City Council

Friday 18 May 2018

PRESENT:

Councillor Sam Davey, Chair.

Councillor Mavin, Vice Chair.

Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Ball, Mrs Beer, Bowie, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman, Buchan, Carson, Churchill, Coker, Corvid, Dann, Philippa Davey, Deacon, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Fletcher, K Foster, W Foster, Goslin, Hendy, James, Johnson, Jordan, Kelly, Michael Leaves, Sam Leaves, Loveridge, Lowry, Dr Mahony, McDonald, Morris, Murphy, Neil, Nicholson, Parker-Delaz-Ajete, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Singh, P Smith, R Smith, Stevens, Jon Taylor, Kate Taylor, Tuffin, Tuohy, Vincent, Wheeler, Wigens and Winter.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Cook and Darcy

The meeting started at 10.30 am and finished at 11.50 am.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at www.plymouth.gov.uk. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

1. To Elect the Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor for the Period up to the Next Annual Meeting

<u>Agreed</u> that Councillor Sam Davey is elected Lord Mayor and Councillor Chris Mavin is elected Deputy Lord Mayor of the city for the ensuing year.

2. Lord Mayor's Chaplin

The Lord Mayor announced the appointment of Pastor Mike Symonds of Engage Plymouth, as his Chaplain.

3. Presentation of Drake's Sword

Warrant Officer David Halliday RM, on behalf of the Royal Navy, presented Drake's Sword to the Lord Mayor to symbolise the key links between the Royal Navy and the City of Plymouth.

4. Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor

Agreed that -

 the Council accords to Mrs Wendy Foster the sincere thanks of the Citizens of Plymouth for the invaluable services she has rendered to the City as Lord Mayor since May 2017, and for the able manner in which she has presided over the deliberations of the Council during that period; 2. the Council also expresses its indebtedness to Councillor Nick Kelly for his diligent and efficient discharge of the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor, and to Councillor Ken Foster as the Lord Mayor's consort, and Mrs Helen Kelly as the Deputy Lady Mayoress, who have supported them during their year of office.

5. To Agree the Leader of the City Council

Agreed that Councillor Evans OBE is elected Leader of the City Council.

6. To Note the Membership of the Cabinet

The Council received the report of the Council Leader (Councillor Evans OBE) which advised that the Cabinet would comprise the following Members –

Portfolios	Cabinet Members
Deputy Leader	Councillor Peter Smith
Children and Young People	Councillor Sue McDonald
Customer Focus and Community Safety	Councillor Sally Bowie
Education, Skills and Transformation	Councillor Jon Taylor
Environment and Street scene	Councillor Sue Dann
Finance	Councillor Mark Lowry
Health and Adult Social Care	Councillor Ian Tuffin
Housing and Co-operative Development	Councillor Chris Penberthy
Strategic Planning and Infrastructure	Councillor Mark Coker

Agreed that the membership of Cabinet is noted.

7. To Agree Committees and their Members and Appoint Chairs and Vice Chairs

A schedule of the nominations to committees, joint committees, panels etc was submitted.

<u>Agreed</u> that approval is given to the appointments to committees, joint committees, panels etc and their chairs and vice chairs for the transaction of the business of the Council until the next Annual Meeting as set out in the list circulated.

8. To Nominate or Appoint Representatives to Outside Bodies

A schedule of the nominations to outside bodies was submitted.

<u>Agreed</u> that approval is given to the appointments and nominations of councillors and others as representatives on outside bodies as indicated.